Mixdown and/or Bounce: Setting the resulting track's level ?

Ok, so I need help here. I watched the videos, more than once, and read up. But, I cannot figure this one out. I apologize for this being so long.

My bounce of multiple tracks to one stereo track works fine. I do see I need to increase the output of the faders in the mix to boost the overall recorded level on the destination track. Upon successful bounce.. I have one stereo track with my desired mix. I like bouncing, I am familiar with the concept from my old days on a similar machine (Roland VS 1680).

Then, my normal SOP would be to take my newly "bounced and mixed" stereo track ... and I EQ it a little.. then I bounce THAT track to another with the EQ of the entire thing. I also push up the level of the "sending" fader so that the destination stereo track meter shows it getting a nice strong signal... at or slightly above 12. (aka "the poor mans mastering" I am not good at the dB stuff, so have mercy). I just know to get it up there, not too high, not too low, and no red.

Ok... so, now I have the "final" bounce on one stereo track.

Enter...MixDown stage.

Somehow, my nice final track is mixing down very very low on the master file.
I believe (after further review of Mr. Tipping's material) that the main stereo fader controls the level that the master file during mix down is recorded at?

**** Question 1: Is it correct that the stereo master fader controls the recording level of of the "master file" made during mix down? (and of so, what is the remedy if the level remains too low) ?

Ok.. assuming it is. If, once you get to this stage, you are not getting a loud enough signal, I guess you have to go back, and remix/bounce the tracks "louder" or... can I use the trim level in the "mixer" view to bump up my bounced final mix?

Basically... I am just trying to get the master file, via mix down, as loud as reasonably possible.