Model 24 Compression won't work and Main Fader does nothing

Jimlin

Hello,

I'm a recording musician who just bought the Model 24 to write, record and mix music without a DAW. I don't have any experience with a mixing board and everything is new to me.

I noticed, when I recorded drums, vocals or piano, and playback one of these tracks and turn the compression knob on, nothing happens and I'm getting no indicator lights. On track 11 and 12 they are always lighting up slightly when the knobs aren't engaged and even when there is nothing connected.
Is this a fault in the system or am I doing something wrong?
All the tracks are set to MTR, EQ works etc..

My main fader does also nothing, only indicating level outputs near the screen.

In the SOS (Sound on Sound mag) review of the Model 12 they point out that Tascam fixed the Compressor issue on 12. The problem on the 24 is that Tascam placed the compressors before the converters, in all instances...therefore you cannot use them during playback.
Check out the SOS review of the 24 and the 12 for in depth details.

Reactions: Jimlin
Correct except in the case of the Model 24 the compressors are analog and are placed before the 3 way switch that “inserts” the playback from the multitrack recorder. In my opinion. Tascam really should have included a pre/post switch for this insert point for each channel.

In the model 12 the compressors are digital and are indeed selectable in terms of placement in the signal chain.

However there IS a reasonable workaround for Model 16 and 24 if you have a spare channel or two:

Let’s say you have recorded a bass on track 1 dry (no compression). You can pan track 1 full left, assign track 1 to sub bus, and run a physical 1/4 mono patch cable from Sub L out to the input of say channel 7.