-mjk-

Staff member
From
Hukou Township, Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Website
phoenixmediaforge.com
Gear owned
DP-32, | 2A Mixer, A3440
For the last several months I have had the privilege of working with Dr. Patrick-Gilles Maillot on a new automation system for the X/M32 consoles series, using the OSC protocol and the Reaper DAW. It's called X32ReaperAutoMate. I'm an old-school recording engineer with mixing experience on API, SSL, Trident, Sony/MCI, Soundcraft, Neve, Amek (and a few others I've forgotten) consoles. This new mixing tool adds a fantastic new level of capability to the X/M32 series that was missing. Not only do we now have very precise automation capability, and I mean being able to automate virturally any console parameter, including being able to change FX assigned to the rack in the middle of a song, we can change any dynamic/EQ, or other channel parameters such as panning, all fully automatable, and, (just as importantly) be able to erase those moves selectively and re-record automation moves to perfect the mix.

I know that many are looking at the X32 as an alternative to the aging Tascam DM series, but the X32 lacks native automation. This tool solves that issue. I've written an extensive introduction to the tool on the front page of the website. An outstanding feature of the tool is that it puts the Reaper transport controls on the console User Assign section. Once connected to the console, I put the keyboard and mouse away, and never look at the computer at all while mixing. Even the Reaper Record function is available to record a mixdown to a stereo track in Reaper. One of the best additional new features is a true Solo-In-Place mode, which the X32 lacks natively. So now it behaves just like a real recording console.