Questions about Tascam 44-OB 4 track reel to reel

bobyoung53

From
Lima, Peru
Gear owned
Tascam 44-OB
How are you doing everyone? I'll make it quick, my brother-in-law just gave me a 44-OB reel to reel which was supposed to have been restored right before he bought it, he didn't realize it was basically a professional deck and never really used it, I think he bought an Akai reel to reel for his system.
But anyway, I was thinking af setting up an analog studio with this and was wondering what would be a good board to go with this, I have noticed that M-30 boards seems to be plentiful and was wondering about opinions for this or other boards. I don't really want to spend a fortune on one but want a decent board, any hints or advice about this deck would be helpful.
I have not received it yet so am a complete newbie with it.

First you want to see if the deck works right. No need to get a board when the deck might not work right. The Tascam 44OB is many levesl above any Akai deck and those a generally junk full of lies and bad transistors anyway.
The 4 buss mixers can work with the deck even to the level of the Model 2A but depending on how much you want to do in a studio mixer wise then you may want more input channels. Mixers are old and may have problems with them. I bought a 44OB because being a Teac Technician I know which ones are the better ones and this is it. I think it sold for about $4500 when new. It is a very solid deck that you can tell by picking it up. It has Woelke heads in them and these are also used in Studer decks.
Goes to show you a person will throw away a Diamond and select a common rock to take home- this indicates stupidity if you ask me. If you do not want to keep the machine I have had a few guys ask me where they can get one.
If it was restored by a typical bonehead- they it will not be restored or even work right. I come across decks all the time that are so called restored and most of them are cases of Fraud