Routing on the DM 4800

songofthewood

Gear owned
Tascam DM 4800
I'm wanting to route 1-16 channels to the board for live sound mixing on level one... but then route the same 16 inputs into Sonar for recording through level two or three. I'm new at this and although manual seems to indicate it can be done ... I can't figure it out. Any help?

One of the things I've noticed lately is that several new users tell us which DM mixer they have, while saying nothing about the interface. Without that information, it's hard to assist.

So - are you using the Firewire interface, or something else?

Either way, the routing you seek is fairly straight ahead.

CaptDan

Okay. Then here's one possible scenario:

First layer - 1 thru 16: route each of your inputs (M/L1 - M/L 16).

Second layer: go to Routing/Output Slot: Choose channels 17-24 as the target. (Pod 2 cycles through the layers). Using Input/Bypass, (right side of screen) route each of those output slots to show M/L1 thru M/l16 accordingly. Be sure to UNassign faders 17-24 from the Stereo Bus (upper left of desk). Otherwise you'll double up the signals.

Note: when using Input Bypass, none of the channels' EQ, Dynamics or fader levels are affecting the signal going to Sonar. In otherwords, it's a straight through process where nothing steps on or prints to the tracks.

Hopefully this will get you started.

CaptDan

Thanks CaptDan ... but a question.

I'm thinking layer 1 contais channels 1-24 and layer 2 contains channels 25-48. I probably won't need more than 16 channels on layer one for M/L but would like to keep 17-24 open for Cd playback, etc. Am I thinking right? If so does that change you above comments?

Understood. I use a DM3200 and think along those lines. :)