Syncing up multiple SX-1's

MERLIN OF SX

From
Casper, Wyoming
Gear owned
8 TASCAM SX1s
Most of us by now realize the only thing better than an SX-1, is two.....or....three....or like me....seven. :shock:

Here's some info on setting up two machines together. I have been doing this for over five years with NO PROBLEMS. At one time I had THREE machines locked together!

First...pick a master machine and a slave. Then you will need the following cables......

An ADAT cable.
A balanced 1/4" to 1/4" cable.
A word-clock cable.

Now....look at the pictures..........

The Wordclock of the master machine goes out to the input of the slave machine.
The ADAT cable goes from ADAT OUT of the slave machine to the ADAT IN of the master machine.

Attachments

• How to join SX-1's 001.jpg
    How to join SX-1's 001.jpg
    773.5 KB · Views: 137
  • How to join SX-1's 002.jpg
    How to join SX-1's 002.jpg
    866.2 KB · Views: 122
  • How to join SX-1's 003.jpg
    How to join SX-1's 003.jpg
    803 KB · Views: 123
Also of importance here is to realize that the slave machine needs to be changed internally(a few buttons) to now act as a slave machine. In the pictures you will see SPDIF connections....originally that is how I sent audio between machines....then I decided to use ADAT since it is simply better. (Now, more of my SPDIF gear is getting used) ;)

Attachments

• How to join SX-1's 005.jpg
    How to join SX-1's 005.jpg
    766.7 KB · Views: 111
If you are syncing THREE machines.....the only change is that you have to send timecode through a 1/4" to 1/4" splitter.....each slave machine needs signal from the maste at the same time......daisy-chaining the 1/4" cable signal does NOT work.