Tascam hardrive

Discussion in 'TASCAM Analog Forum' started by 8trx, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. 8trx

    8trx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    788
    I got a second hand 788. I used to own a brand new 788 and cd-r burner. Anyway this used one is version 2.02.

    Upon powering up the unit I erased the songs that were on it . I want to make sure the HD is clean. Can I hit reformat and the 788 partitions the drive itself ? I can't tell or forgot how to tell how much HD space is avail? I seem to remember that the 788 has a 7.5 HD...I wanna make sure this particular unit has either the original drive a space or if any modifications were done to the HD. So my question is how do I reformatt the HD for dummies? I don't want to erase the current 2.02 version by accident. I do want to clear the drive of all audio but not erase any of the 788's internal (operating?) data.
  2. witzendoz

    witzendoz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2012
    Messages:
    498
    Likes:
    41
    From:
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    Gear:
    M3700 MX2424 MSR16S
    I think you have this in the wrong section, this is the analog forum, try here.

    Alan.
    8trx likes this.
  3. 8trx

    8trx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    788
    Thanks Alan, I was directed to the analog forum because it's pretty much dead in the portastudio /digital section. Thank you anyway
  4. witzendoz

    witzendoz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2012
    Messages:
    498
    Likes:
    41
    From:
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    Gear:
    M3700 MX2424 MSR16S
    Did you check this out, or have you already?
    8trx likes this.
  5. 8trx

    8trx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    788
    I did. Actually read through the manual on this also but I don't wanna mess it up and need to be sure before regretting a bad decision ...on top of that the support is just about non existent