Tascam US 16x08 Keeps losing USB connection

Rainer Ild

Gear owned
tascam us-16x08
Hi!

I've been using the 16x08 with the same laptop for two years now. And now, suddenly, out of knowhere it starts losing connection between the laptop. Everything is fine when I turn on the computer and connect the device but the connection starts messing around when I record or playback from the daw. I use Cubase 10.5 for the recording sessions and Ableton Live when I play gigs.

It started crashing at gigs(embarrasing) and the control panel says " lost connection with the device or device not found" or something like that.

I have tried different USB ports, nothing changes.
I have tried older interface drivers, nothing changes.
I have even formated and reinstalled windows, but nothing changes.

Is it a new windows update thing?

Rainer

Tried a different cable?

To be specific, It works fine for 10-20 minutes. Then it loses connection, then I reselect the audio interface from the daw. Continue my work. Maybe record or mix for 10 minutes again and it loses the connection again. Reselect the driver again and etc etc.......tha same loop again and again.. That has been my workflow for a month now.

Wow, you can't get anything done like that!

There is another thread addressing this. Try plugging your USB cord into a USB 2.0 port instead of the 3.0 port. I was having the same problem and this seems to have fixed it.

Reactions: -mjk-
To DPM309,

That would make sense if i had started using the interface with this computer just now. But I have been using the same set up for two years now - and i haven't had these problems until now. I only have usb3 ports on my computer.