Two songs (test) - Your opinion

Danmusic

From
Canada
Website
www.danieldion.com
Gear owned
DP-24 SD
I would like to hear from a few members of the group.
I want to mention that I'm really not a sound engineer.
Feel free to share your opinions with me frankly because I really want to improve the sound of my recordings

The first song 0500
https://tinyurl.com/2wpb4hzj

I don't like the flute but it's to do a test.

This score could be for a singer.

The second song 0700
https://tinyurl.com/3uc75r8v

Without a score for a singer, only accompaniment.

For this one I used Melodyne Studio 5 to correct a mini peak, a little noise that was on the Telecaster guitar.

Instruments in these songs:
Takamine GN77KCA-NAT, Fender Telecaster, Sound module Roland D-05, Rhodes (Yamaha Reface CP Rd1) ans Steven Slate Drum plugin.

Recording on my Tascam DP-24SD, mix made with Reaper, some audio correction with Melodyne,
Delay and Reverb with Sonitus plugin and SLICKEQ plugin on the Master to finish.
Direct recording from my computer to my portastudio.
In the mastering mode, I made a light EQ and the single compressor. Just that.

Thanks.

I think your mixes sound good.

My only critique would be to take the bass further back in the mix, and move it a bit off center. As is, it's out front and dominates the sound stage in both songs. (I usually mix the bass and kick to complement each other, EQing the kick a bit around 60Hz (depending on the mic used) and the bass a bit around 80Hz. From there I build the rest of the mix around that bed.)

In song 0500 the bass occupies the same space as the flute, and if there was a vocal, the same would be true. You might also try brightening the flute a bit to bring out some of the "air" that gives the flute its distinctive characteristic.

Last edited:
Reactions: -mjk- and Danmusic
Thank Mark.

You are right, several years ago I was a trumpet player and singer. I tend to focus more on mid and mid-high range.