Your Preference: Click Track or No Click Track?

Slugworth

Veteran
Gear owned
DP-008EX
I've been playing guitar for a few decades. A year ago I started playing bass and this led to a want to record. About six months ago I purchased a Tascam dp-008ex and a used Yamaha dd-65 drum pad kit. Also, purchased a used Yamaha belt-driven kick pedal pad and built a wood pedal for the high-hat trigger. Other items include a small 4-channel mixer, SM57 and SM58 mics.

I didn't do much recording for the first two months, but have about ten songs recorded (not all are mastered) presently. Some of those songs are dialed in well as far as timing/instruments synched and some are noticeably not. The recorder has a metronome on it, but I haven't used it much. My drumming is getting better, but I did and still do to a lesser extent struggle with the kick pedal timing which I thought was the reason for most of timing issues I've experienced on some songs.

I recently downloaded a metronome app that is more useful and visual than the one on the recorder that I intend to try out for upcoming recordings. Just today, not sure why it took me so long, I got the idea to lay a bass pedal only track to serve as a timer. Curious if others prefer a click-track and if so, what methods used?

GREAT topic. I've also been playing (and recording) for decades...and have had to confront the issues of rhythm. Time is REALLLLY important in music!

I was fortunate for maaaaany years that all of my gear - from $60 drum machines to very expensive MTR's - all had extremely accurate "clocks" - meaning if you set it to xxxBPM, that's EXACTLY what you got - I mean to the microsecond. My DP-32, my ZOOM RT drum machines, and my Roland synths are all deadly accurate, and work beautifully together via MIDI.