DP32 import problem

Mark Freeway

Gear owned
DP-32
Hello,
I'm a total newbie... both to this forum and to digital recording in general. So if this is the wrong place to ask this, please just let me know. Be gentle ;-)

Here is what I am trying to do. A while back, contact was made with some old band mates from *many, many* years ago. We are scattered around the country and only can meet up once a year at best. So, we are trying to learn to to play together "long-distance", by sharing recordings - adding tracks - and sharing again. All works OK with most of us, but one of the guys doesn't have a computer (yeah, I know... how can that be?), so the only way to share is to share SD cards.

Here is my issue - I am having problems importing wav files.

I have several recorded tracks. I exported them all individually to a PC to do some editing/mixing using Audacity. I backed up the exported files before doing any editing. After the editing, I want to import them back onto the DP32. I want to save both the mixed version and the individual tracks to an SD card so that I can share with my Luddite buddy. I am able to import the version that was mixed on Audacity, and also the first two individual tracks with no problem, but the rest of the tracks will not import. Well, actually they do import, but something must be wrong with the format, because when I try to play back there is nothing but noise, and the DP32 hangs - I have to power cycle to get it out of the hung state.

I thought that it must be something to do with the editing I did with Audacity (although I don't see anything different between the tracks that import and those that don't). So, I then just tried to re-import the un-edited original tracks that I had originally exported. Same thing... the first two tracks import fine, but the others don't.

I'm sure I'm either doing something stupid... or have some fundamental misunderstanding of how things work... but I can't figure out what I am doing wrong.