Please Explain This From The Mod 12 Manual

zozoe

Gear owned
388, MR16 1" tape,
Maximum Recordable ChannelNumber: 12ch (10ch + 2 stereo mix)

So there's 10 actual tracks to record onto, & you can fly in an outside stereo source, or you mix down to those 2 tracks? It's not clear...
Thnx

Reactions: -mjk-
MJK, help a guy out here,,,,

So there's 10 actual tracks to record onto, & you can fly in an outside stereo source, or you mix down to those 2 tracks?

1. Yes
  2. Yes
  3. Yes
It's a 10 track multitrack recorder with a 2 track mixdown recorder (10+2=12). You can bring in stereo (or mono) sources.

Btw, I'm no expert on that device. I only know what I've read and seen on the videos.

This seems to be a source of confusion with these Model series machines. The last two tracks are always a 2 track recorder that can (apparently) only be used to record a mix of audio from the multitrack tracks and outboard sources going to the main stereo bus.

• Model 24: 22 tracks + 2 mixdown tracks
  • Model 16: 14 tracks + 2 mixdown tracks
  • Model 12: 10 tracks + 2 mixdown tracks
Why Tascam chose to do it this way and provide a completely nonstandard track count is anyone's guess.

Last edited:
So, you don't even require an outboard burner for mixing,,, that is bizarre of Tascam, indeed. Thanks for the great info!!

@zozoe no, a burner is not a requirement for mixing. A burner simply creates a CD or DVD medium to play the mix files on. Same with the DP machines. I have an older DP-32 and I've never used it to burn a CD, only to play them back and rip from them.

Hence the need for any old computer to burn a disc from the SD, right?