Tascam PB-32H Question

Discussion in 'TASCAM Analog Forum' started by ITGuy1024, Apr 27, 2016.

  1. ITGuy1024

    ITGuy1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    I'm using a Tascam patchbay to hook up all our older consoles to the tv. I got the idea from here and I'm hooking it up the same way. http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-make-a-video-game-console-patch-bay/

    The problem I'm having is that the picture gets shaky for lack of a better word. Sometimes I get sound but no video.

    I have a pretty nice cable connecting the patchbay to the tv, I did try a different cable and same issue. The audio cables go from the patchbay to the AV receiver.

    The cables I use for connecting the actual ports on the patchbay are pretty cheap, just something I found on Amazon.

    So I'm not sure if I got a bad patchbay or I need to get some higher quality cables to connect the patchbay ports.

    Does anyone else use a patchpay for old consoles, any feed back?

    20160403_105817.jpg
  2. Arjan P

    Arjan P Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes:
    993
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Are you using stereo patch cables like the article on Cnet suggests? Change to mono jack-jack in that case - this patch bay is mono so by using stereo patch cables you may not have good contact. Ofcourse, the patch bay also wasn't meant for video signals so it's hit'n miss anyway..
  3. ITGuy1024

    ITGuy1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    That's a really good question.. I'm not sure if the cables are stereo or mono. Honestly I didn't even notice it said that on Cnet..

    I picked up these patch cables http://www.amazon.com/Wires-PC1817TRS-Balanced-Patch-Cables/dp/B005FO1WBC

    And this cable connects the patchbay to the tv.
    http://www.amazon.com/iMBAPrice®-25-Feet-Composite-Video-Cable/dp/B00L2LV3AW

    Interesting about the patchbay not being made for video. I figured a patchbay was a patchbay was a patchbay. But I guess that makes sense now that you said it.
  4. Arjan P

    Arjan P Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes:
    993
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Yeah those are balanced i.e. stereo patch cables. Also, the video cable is quite long at 25 ft - the shorter is always the better, but you may have no choice. If you can, try some mono patch cables. To rule out the whole patch bay you could use this type of coupler.
  5. ITGuy1024

    ITGuy1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Yeah I wanted a shorter one, maybe 12' but didn't see any. I tried another video cable that was shorter and the same issue.
    Any recommendations for mono patch cables?
  6. wkrbee

    wkrbee Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes:
    55
    From:
    Outside the Emerald City
    Mixing video and audio cables in the same patchbay could also be the problem.Saw a lot of problems in the field with the client mixing audio,SMPTE and video signals in the same patchbay.