TC Companion

Discussion in 'TASCAM DM-3200 & DM-4800' started by John Flynn, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. Arjan P

    Arjan P Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes:
    888
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Wait a minute. Is it not a read back error? Meaning the backup actually worked but verification failed? Maybe the .tpi files are there on the computer...
  2. John Flynn

    John Flynn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes:
    6
    From:
    Shankill, Dublin Ireland
    Gear:
    Tascam DM4800 IF-FW
    thanks Arjan P

    Another possibility

    I am in studio all day today and am going to try any suggested ideas here. To try out yours i will set up a new folder and attempt to back up to it. That way i can check if the tpi file is there although i am getting the error. If that is the case i will simply change the setting in preferences so i dont constantly have to see this showing up as an error....

    Thanks for this

    John
  3. John Flynn

    John Flynn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes:
    6
    From:
    Shankill, Dublin Ireland
    Gear:
    Tascam DM4800 IF-FW
    OK THE GOOD NEWS PROBLEM SOLVED!!!
    Thank you so much to everyone who took the time to help me get over this problem. Hopefully i too will be there to provide a similar service for others with difficulties. I took out the CF card from the Tascam and tried another CF card i had made as a backup. When using TC companion with this other CF card the back ups performed perfectly. I then put the old CF card in and the same problem happened. I took the back up i had made from the new card that worked and sent it back to the card that didn't. Both cards now work perfectly and the TM Companion is working as it should......
  4. captdan

    captdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2012
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes:
    217
    From:
    Northern California
    Gear:
    DM3200
    Glad you got this sorted out. From what you describe, it seems the data (or headers) on your first CF card was corrupted. By overwriting the card with the backup card's data, the bad files were fixed.

    Or - perhaps, the process of removing, inserting and re-seating the card was the solution. Maybe the original card is somehow physically challenged - deformed, damaged, and if it's not seated a certain way it doesn't function properly. :?:

    CaptDan
  5. John Flynn

    John Flynn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes:
    6
    From:
    Shankill, Dublin Ireland
    Gear:
    Tascam DM4800 IF-FW
    Hi Dan

    i don't think its a seating issue. I reckon it was corrupted but alls well that ends well...
  6. Arjan P

    Arjan P Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes:
    888
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Good to hear you got it sorted!
  7. John Flynn

    John Flynn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes:
    6
    From:
    Shankill, Dublin Ireland
    Gear:
    Tascam DM4800 IF-FW
    Thanks.
    I originally saved my settings to the CF card on the desk and then backed this card up to my host computer. I connected a CF card writer (containing a second CF card)and saved the computer file from the 1st CF card to the reader, I think this is how the corruption occurred. I think the 2nd card ended up in the DM. I would have been wiser to save my desk settings to CF card and then back up to host computer. I should have then removed the original CF card and fitted the 2nd card to the desk. Then i could have used the computer to send the file back to the back up CF card using TM companion. This is what i did yesterday and all worked fine, I am just posting this so if any other user has a similar problem this might help....
  8. HiFiDavid

    HiFiDavid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes:
    15
    Gear:
    Tascam DM-3200
    For the backup files on a Windows PC.. does anyone know the default folder/directory and file name and file extension? Where does the TM Companion app place its files so I can view the actual directory from Windows?
  9. Arjan P

    Arjan P Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes:
    888
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    AFAIK, you create your own location and then point TMC to it. There's no automatic backup to the PC anyway so you'll have to do that yourself. With TMC open, the left shows the mixer files on the DM and the right shows whatever you want it to show, since it can navigate through the PC. I believe TMC remembers the last used location..
  10. HiFiDavid

    HiFiDavid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes:
    15
    Gear:
    Tascam DM-3200
    So there is a TMC manual and easy to find on the net. Found out that the file name ends in .tpi

    So Yes, TMC app can point to wherever, but if you've been storing DM backups through the TMC app, like me, they should be all in one place. But, for some reason they were lost on my system some where. Look for .tpi files and they can be located and moved to the right spots so TMC can work with them.
  11. Arjan P

    Arjan P Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes:
    888
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Yes, .tpi is the file extension. Sorry, I missed that part of your question.

    I don't quite get what you mean here. TMC can only send mixer setting (.tpi) files to and from the DM when the user tells it to do so. How do you mean 'TMC can work with them'?