TS or TRS cable for this insert plan Or use a bus instead Or

Hammarlund

Gear owned
Model 12
I am sending a mic & guitar into my Tascam 12. I need to duplicate those signals for a harmonizer.

I assume (maybe I'm wrong) that I should go into the T12 first and then pull them out using the insert jack. I'm not actually running an insert, as I do not plan to return the effect to the same channels. Instead, I want to use the inserts (or a bus) as a duplicate output, and I'm going to return on separate "wet" channels.

OPTION ONE: INSERT JACK. TS OR TRS?
I know this can be done for channel #1 and 2 by plugging in halfway, but I've never tried it before and don't know what to use. My effects box requires XLR on its end. What do I use on the Tascam side to make this work: TS or TRS? And of course this can't be balanced--there aren't enough clicks--so how's the fidelity?

OPTION TWO: BUS? CONTROL ROOM?
Is it better to use a bus (I don't 100% understand the signal flow here) or an insert?

I know that I can easily run those two channels to SUB--I don't really have much else on SUB at this point. But as far as I can see, I'd be sending post-EQ and post-compressor, which I don't want.

I think the "send point" control only affects SD card recording and there is no option to (for example) send to SUB or AUX1 without going through EQ and comp. Am I wrong?

OPTION THREE: IS THERE SOMETHING ELSE ENTIRELY?
If one of you lifetime-recording-studio types is thinking "Every studio has this issue; why isn't he just using a cheap feeblejarber box like everyone else?" the answer is simple: I don't know what the so-to-speak feeblejarber box is, or that it exists, and so I don't own one. Feel free to enlighten me! :)

Depending on the routing options in the harmonizer you could perhaps go directly into it with the mic and guitar and send both dry and wet outputs from it to the Tascam 12. Don't know if your harmonizer has that kind of routing options though.
Or ...