Totally new to Digital

Sampler1

From
Montreal, Canada
Website
sites.google.com
Gear owned
DM-3200 and Mackie 24-8
I hope you will be understanding that I am totally new to Digital Consoles and my questions might be quite lame.. LOL
I presently have a mackie analog 24-8 and it is getting a bit tired. I came across a Tascam DM-3200 with the 1000 meter bridge. I am trying to figure out will I still need an IO interface to my PC or will the Tascam take care of that? The Tascam has both USB and a optional Firewire interface. Do both USB and Firewire need to be used? I have flipped through the manual and it does not shine much light on this.
Can someone please explain.
PS: where is the ASIO driver for windows found?
I have been a Tech for 40 +years but I am a virgin when it comes to digital. Sorry this post is so Lame..

The DM-3200 has two issues and both are no big deal to me . 1 : A half dead display . 2 : A jumpy fader.
I have located both parts in Asia. The display is about $65.00 and the Alps Fader is around $20.00 with postage. Im still not sure but I think I will opt for a LCD screen with a "LED backlight ".

I really appreciate your time..
Stay well.

PS: Happy to share the links But I'm not sure that is allowed in the forum.

Last edited:
@Sampler1 Welcome to one of the top communities on the web. At least I think so. So, let's see how I / we may be of assistance. I will try to tackle some of your questions.

1) The DM comes with a builtin audio interface. As per the owners manual:

Features